IEEE Japan Council

1998 New Fellows

No. Name Professional Affiliation Citation
1 Masami Akaike Science University of Tokyo For contributions to nonlinear analysis and design of millimeter-wave and microwave solid-state devices.
2 Yoshiharu Abe Toshiba/td> For contributions to the research and development of automatic control system for metal rolling mills.
3 Tadayoshi Enomoto Chuo Univ. For contributions to the development of integrated circuits for multimedia.
4 Hideo Fukutomi Sumitomo Electric Industries For leadership in optical fiber and cable technologies.
5 Yoji Furuhama Communication Research Laboratory For contributions to and leadership in optical and millimeter-wave propagataion research, especially for its application to satellite communications.
6 Masahiro Hashuimoto Osaka Electro-Communication Univ. For contributions to electromagnetic theory, especialy for guided-wave optics.
7 Taketoshi Hibiya NEC For contributions to liquid-phase epitaxial growth of magnetic garnet films for telecommunication applications.
8 Kotaro Hirano Kobe Univ. For contributions to analog and digital signal processing, and to engineering education.
9 Yasuo Hirata KDD For contributions to and leadership in the development of digital mobile satellite communication systems and research of their key technologies.
10 Hisakazu Iizuka ITIM For contributions to the development of the stacked-gate structure for an electrically alterable PROM.
11 Katsushi Ikeuchi Tokyo Univ./td> For contributions to the advancement of robot vision technology.
12 Masamitsu Kosaki Toyohashi University of Technology For contributions to the understanding of electrical insulation characteristics of polymers in the cryogenic temperature region and the development of extruded polymer insulated supeerconducting cable.
13 Madihian Mohammad NEC For contribution to the design and development of microwave as well as millimeter-wave solid state monolithic integrated circuits for personal computing and wireless networking systems.
14 Yasuo Matsuyama Waseda Univ. For contributions to learning algorithms with competition.
15 Yoshihisa Nakmura Tohoku Univ. For contributions and leadership in the field of high-density magnetic recording and the basic development of perpendicular magnetic recording.
16 Shogo Nishida Osaka Univ. For contributions to emergency control schemes for the stabilization of power systems and to power engineering education.
17 Takao Nishitani NEC For contributions to the development of LSI chip architectures on degital signal processors.
18 Kanji Ohtsuka Meisei University For contribution to Ceramic Multilayer Substrate, IC and LSI Packaging Technology and Multichip Module Technology.
19 Takao Sakai Musashi Institute of Techonology For the analysis of deterioration of insulating materials caused by partial discharge and corona discharge in gases.
20 Hiroyuki Sakaki Tokyo Univ. For seminal contributions to quantum effects in semiconductor nanostructures and devices.
21 Norio Shiratori Tohoku Univ. For contributions to the theory and practice of advanced computer netoworks.
22 Hideo Sumani Hitachi Ltd. For contributions to the development of trench-capacitor DRAM cells and ultra-high density DRAMs.
23 Hirobumi Takanashi Fujitsu Labratory For leadership and contributions in the development of optical semiconductor devices and transmission systems.
24 Kenji Taniguchi Osaka Univ. For contributions to the development of MOS device fabrication processes, particularly dielectric breakdown and oxxygen-enhanced diffusion.
25 Yohichi Thokura NTT For leadership in collaborative research on human-machine processing.
26 Yutaka Yamamoto Kyoto Univ. For contributions to the development of trench-capacitor DRAM cells and ultra-high density DRAMs.
27 Hiroshi Yasuda Tokyo Univ. For contributions to international standardization activities on video coding technologies and the research and development of visual communications and multimedia communications systems.
28 Katsuichi Yotsumoto NTT For contributions to highly efficient and reliable telecommunications energy systems.