IEEE Japan Council

2008 New Fellows

No. Section Name Professional Affiliation Citation
1 Tokyo Kenji Anami Semiconductor Industry
Research Institute
(Present)Renesas Technology
For invention of the divided word line structure for high-speed, low-power logic and memory
2 Kansai Ikuo Awai Ryukoku University For contributions to microwave passive components
3 Tokyo Kazuo Hagimoto NTT For contributions to very large capacity optical transmission systems
4 Kansai Hiroki Hamada SANYO For contributions to red semiconductor laser diodes and polycrystalline silicon thin-film transistors
5 Tokyo Eishi Ibe Hitachi For contributions to neutron-induced soft-error analysis for semiconductor memory devices
6 Tokyo Takeshi Inoue NEC For contributions to bulk wave piezoelectric devices and applications
7 Tokyo Hisao Kameda Tsukuba University For contributions to performance optimization methods for information processing systems
8 Tokyo Akihiko Kasukawa Furukawa Electric For contributions to high power semiconductor lasers as pump sources for optical amplifiers
9 Tokyo Fumio Koyama Tokyo Institute of Technology For contributions to semiconductor optical devices for broadband optical communications
10 Tokyo Keiichi Kubota NHK For contributions to HDTV compression and transmission systems
11 Sendai Hiroaki Muraoka Tohoku University For contributions to perpendicular magnetic recording and to recording heads and media
12 Kansai Susumu Noda Kyoto Univerity For contributions to photonic crystals and nanophotonics
13 Kansai Daisuke Ueda Matsushita Electric For contributions to power-saving semiconductor devices and circuits
14 Tokyo Hiromi Ueda Tokyo University of Technology For contributions to synchronous digital hierarchy transmission systems and optical access systems
15 Nagoya Noriyuki Shimizu Meijo University For contributions to the understanding of degradation mechanism of polymeric insulating materials
16 Tokyo Kaoru Yano NEC For leadership in development of digital transmission systems
17 Tokyo Yutaka Yasuda KDDI For contributions to mobile digital satellite communication systems