IEEE Japan Council

2000 New Fellows

No. Name Professional Affiliation Citation
1 Hidenori Akiyama Kumamoto Univ For contributions to the development of pulsed power technology and its industrial applications.
2 Kazutoshi Asano Yamagata Univ. For experimental and analytical studies of fundamental electrohydrodynamic phenomena in liquids and their engineering applications.
3 Mitsutoshi Hatori NACSIS For contributions in communication engineering and broadcasting engineering.
4 Sumio Kobayashi Toshiba For contributions to the development of advanced high voltage light-fired thyristors.
5 Hirofumi Matsuo Nagasaki Univ. For contributions to the education, research and development of efficient electronic power conversion, and switching power conditioning circuits
6 Masatoshi Migitaka Toyota Technological Institute For contributions to research and development of silicon high temperature integrated circuits.
7 Tetsuya Miki The University of Electro Communications For contributions to optical transmission systems and Fiber-To-The-Home.
8 Makoto Nagao Kyoto Univ. For contributions and pioneering leadership in natural language processing, intelligent image analysis, and multimedia digital library systems.
9 Masayuki Nakayama Sony For contributions to the development and standardization of the 3.5 inch floppy disk drive system.
10 Yoshimichi Ohki Waseda Univ. For contributions to understanding of high-field and laser induced dielectric phenomena in insulating materials.
11 Naohisa Ohta Sony For contributions to the research and development of technologies and applications for high quality digital image and video communications of high-power excimer lasers and soft x-ray lasers.
12 Takashi Onuki Waseda Univ. For contributions to the numerical analysis of electromagnetic fields for linear motors.
13 Kazuiro Ouchi ARIAT For contributions to the development of Co-Cr alloy based thin film magnetic recording media.
14 Takao Ozawa Ryukoku Univ. For contributions to theories and algorithms for circuit-systems analysis, diagnosis, and design.
15 Tadao Saito Tokyo Univ. For contribution to digital switching networks.
16 Sigeru Sato Fujitsu Laboratory For technical leadership in circuit and packaging technologies and the application of artificial intelligence techniques.
17 Yasuo Sekii Chiba Institute of Technology For contribution to understanding and development of extra-high voltage AC and DC cross-linked polyethylene insulated cable system.
18 Koji Torii Nara Institute of Science and Technology For contributions to empirical software engineering.
19 Makoto Tsutsumi Kyoto Inst. Tech. For contributions to the development of magnetostatic wave devices, ferrite components and microwave education.
20 Shin-ichiro Umemura Hitachi Ltd. For contributions to biomedical ultrasonics.
21 Naoaki Yamanaka NTT For contribution to ultra-high-speed communication technologies and systems.
22 Naoki Yokoyama Fujitsu Laboratory For contributions to the development of self-aligned gallium arsenide MESFET integrated circuits.
23 Tsuneo Yoshikawa Ktoto Univ. For contributions to the analysis and control of robotic mechanism.For contributions to the analysis and control of robotic mechanism.
24 Shinichi Yuta University of Tsukuba For contributions to navigation, programming, and architectures of sensor-based mobile robots.