IEEE Japan Council

1996 New Fellows

No. Name Professional Affiliation Citation
1 Hirofumi Akagi Okayama Univ For contributions to the theory of instantaneous reactive power in three-phase circuits, and to the development of active power filters for harmonic compensation in power systems.
2 Haruo Akimaru Asahi Univ. For contributions to switching and signaling systems, and the optimum design applying teletraffic theory.
3 Satoru Fujishima Murata MFG.Co., Ltd. For the development of piezoelectric ceramic filters, SAW filters for TV and SAW filters for mobile communication.
4 Katsuhisa Furuta Tokyo Institute of Technology For contributions to digital control theory and its applications to robotics and industrial processes.
5 Tatsuro Hasegawa Toshiba Engineering Corp. For contributions to industrial electronics and control systems.
6 Botaro Hirosaki NEC C&C For contributions to the development of high-speed digital communications technologies and systems.
7 Kiyoo Itoh Hitachi Ltd. For seminal and sustained contributions to high-density dynamic DRAMs.
8 Yoshihiro Iwadare Nagoya Univ. For contributions to information and coding theory, especially for the construction of a class of burst-error correcting convolutional codes.
9 Takehiro Izumi NHK For leadership in the planning and institution of direct broadcasting by satellite and the development of a channeling plan for such broadcasting.
10 Akinobu Kasami Toshiba Corp. For contributions to, and technical leadership of, the development of red and green LED’s and red visible laser diodes.
11 Kohroh Kobayashi NEC For contribution to the development of high performance long wavelength semiconductor lasers and other optoelectronics devices for optical fiber communications.
12 Hiroyoshi Komiya Mitsubishi Electric Corp. For contributions to the development and operation of a fully automated semiconductor manufacturing line.
13 Kouki Matsuse Meiji Univ. For contributions to sensorless control of induction motors and adjustable speed ac drives.
14 Hisayasu Mitsui Toshiba Corp. For contributions to the research and development of insulating materials and insulation systems for high voltage rotating machines and advanced research devices.
15 Tetsuo Nishi Kyushu Univ. For contributions to linear and nonlinear circuit theory.
16 Hajime Sasaki NEC For contributions to the development of advanced VLSI systems.
17 Sachio Semmoto DDI Tokyo Pocket Telephone, Inc. For technical and entrepreneurial contributions to the telecommunications industry in Japan.
18 Naohisa Shimomura Toshiba Corp. For contributions and leadership in the development of Japanese language information processing technologies.
19 Hideaki Takagi Tsukuba Univ. For contributions to the performance analysis of communication networks and queueing systems.
20 Isao Takahashi Nagaoka Univ. of Technology For research contributions in power electronics and AC motor drives.
21 Toru Toyabe Toyo Univ. For contributions to numerical device modeling and physics of metal-oxide-semiconductor devices.
22 Shigeru Yokoyama CRIEPI For contributions to lightning protection of power distribution lines and to the measurement of lightning phenomena.